Skip to content

Back to Basics

December 29, 2007

Mother Wintermoon, one of my favortie blog spots to visit, made reference to a Meme that I just had to check out, one for survivors of abuse that she found at Survivors Can Thrive.  I had to do this one now, in the midst of all that is new and changing, because it is very easy for me to forget to care for myself in the most basic ways, especially when it feels that huge things are happening in the now.   I would invite any who need this, any who wish to affirm their own healing process to visit either Mother Wintermoon’s site for the “I am” needs list or Marj at Survivors Can Thrive for the version that I am using here.

The Survivors Need List:

1. I need to stay with my body and in it.

2. I need to remeber to provide my body with nourishment in the form of food and I need to do that everyday.

3. I need to remember to drink water and receive it as a kiss from the Mother who can love me.

4. I need not to hate myself when I am triggered.

5. I need to stay in the present and see how healthy and happy my children are.

6. I need to sleep.

7. I need to allow myself to connect to those people in my life who love me unconditionally.

8. I need to take the time to practice my spirituality.

9. I need to ground everyday.

10. I need to take the time to pet my kitty and receive the love he gives back to me.

11. I need to feel what I feel and work towards knowing which of those feelings belong to “now” and which belong to “then”.

12. I need to give myself permission to decide which traditions I want to have and which I am ready to discard.

13. I need my pajamas and monster feet slippers.

14. I need time to curl up in my soft magenta throw and receive that as a safe hug from the people who love me.

15. I need to remember that I am allowed to be sad for the childhood that I didn’t ahve at the same time that I take joy in the cildhood that I am creating for my own girls.

16.  I need to feel safe while I am sleeping.

17.  I need to know that my body is mine and that nooone has the right to touch it when I feel unsafe with that.

18.  I also need to know how to ask for touch when I feel the need to affirm my ability to celebrate my sensual self.

19. I need to know that I can ask for time alone when I need it.

20.  I need to recognise my unhealthy coping skills while also celebrating my ability to cope for so long.

21. I need to have my needs heard.

22.  I need to affirm for myself that I am strong and brave even when I feel small and afraid.

23.  I need to laugh.

24.  I need to allow myself to connect with my female friends and trust that they can accept me even in my weakness.

25. I need to hug my girls and know that they have always been safe.

Wants:

1. I want time to curl up with the one I love and just hold on for awhile.

2. I want lots of coffee!

3. I want lots of cigarettes.

4. I want to feel my bonds of friendhip strengthening and supporting me.

5. I want to feel like I have found home.

Please, if you are a survivor, remeber to tend to yourself this season.  And if you are in a place where you are able, receive a safe hug for me in celebration of the fact that we have indeed survived!!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. poseidonsmuse permalink
    January 1, 2008 4:08 am

    Oh Signmom…these are some wonderful affirmations! Some of these things should be on my list too. I haven’t been by in a while and just wanted to see how you were getting along.

    Wishing you a wonderful New Year my friend…

  2. poseidonsmuse permalink
    January 1, 2008 9:07 pm

    ps. I’ve left something special for you over at my site…just a token of Love and Light for you….

  3. Sibyl permalink
    January 2, 2008 1:40 am

    Oh my goddess, I had to remark now a second time, too uncanny:

    “Wants:
    1. I want time to curl up with the one I love and just hold on for awhile. 2. I want lots of coffee! 3. I want lots of cigarettes. 4. I want to feel my bonds of friendhip strengthening and supporting me. 5. I want to feel like I have found home.”

    crystal clarity right there. right down to the coffee and cigarettes. thank you for saying it.

  4. January 2, 2008 3:49 pm

    I don’t know how I missed the fact that you have a blog, but I just found it, and read every post… which makes me feel like I’ve just had several stiff drinks- you write with much power. I look forward to your future posts!

  5. January 2, 2008 11:35 pm

    So very proud of you for taking the time to sit with your own needs and wants, love! Wrapping you in magenta hugs…

  6. signmom permalink*
    January 8, 2008 12:40 pm

    PM, I am so happy to see you here, darlin’!! The lotus is gorgeous and when I get my brain back, I am certainly adding it here! Thank you for allowing me that!

    And Joel, my heart dances to see you here!! In my best moments here, I hope to share a tiny bit of the magnifcence of Her that you have shown me!

    Aerolin, I have no words for you, love! It pleases me to think that I have made you proud and your support is one of the things that makes it possible for me to remember to meet my needs!

  7. January 17, 2008 8:34 pm

    I was very moved by reading your list. Thank you so much for playing with us! I just found your meme post today, so I’ll add you to my meme’s linky list!

Leave a Reply

